History of Glan-llyn

Glan-llyn was established as an Outdoor Center for the Urdd in 1950. Sir Ifan ab Owen Edwards saw his chance to establish a permanent Urdd centre in North Wales when Plas Glan-llyn became available to rent at the end of the 1940’s.


Glan- llyn had belonged to the Wynnstay Family from Ruabon who had previously been using it as a hunting lodge.

In the early years the ‘gwersyllwyr’ would arrive on a train and would be transported across Llyn Tegid on the Brenin Arthur boat. During this time, facilities at the centre were pretty basic, but that did not deter thousands of young people flocking to Glan-llyn to take part in various adventurous activities on water and land, and of course to form life-long friendships. The Urdd bought Plas Glan-llyn in 1964 and during the early years only older Urdd members would come to Glan-llyn, with younger members attending camps at Llangrannog. In the early decades it was the ‘swogs’ that led the activities such as canoeing, climbing, swimming, mountaineering and of course the social activities in the evenings. It was during this time that Glan-llyn was regarded as the centre of the Welsh pop music scene of the time.

Over the years the center has developed, not only in buildings and facilities, but also in the array of courses that we can offer to all ages. At present, we welcome over 13,000 children, young people and families here to enjoy facilities that are second to none. With the latest developments we can ensure that future generations can enjoy the unique Welsh welcome that we offer here at Glan-llyn.